Norris Trophy Finalists Announced

April 22nd, 2008 | Posted by admin in NHL

The NHL announced the 3 finalists for the Vezina Trophy yesterday, and now today the 3 finalists for the Norris Trophy for the league’s best defenseman has been released.  The 3 finalists are Nicklas Lidstrom of Wings, Zdeno Chara of the Bruins and Dion Phaneuf of the Flames.

Lidstrom is already a 5 time winner of the Norris Trophy and has been a finalist 9 out of the last 10 seasons.  He had another stellar season leading the Red Wings to the Presiden’t Cup for the league’s best record, while amassing a league best for defenseman 70 points.

Dion Phaneuf earns his first nomination for the Norris Trophy, although I am sure it won’t be his last.  Phaneuf was a beast defensively this season and added 17 goals and 60 points to lead all Flame’s defensemen.

Zdeno Chara was the runner up for the Norris Trophy in 2004, losing to Scott Niedermayer.  Chara was a +17 on the year and racked up 17 goals and 51 points.

The NHL awards ceremony will be held on June 12, 2008.

Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


HTML tags are not allowed.